Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I was right. They were right. HE was right.

Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me over
But had me believing it was always something that I’d done
And I don’t wanna live that way
Reading into every word you say
You said that you could let it go
And I wouldn’t catch you hung up on somebody that you used to know…

It took me time to see it but I’m finally beginning to understand. God wanted to show me the right path but I was blinded. Blinded by stubbornness more than anything else.

It all makes sense now. This is how fate had to be revealed to me. There was no way I’d just take it on what others said, what he said or even what I knew deep down.

I finally feel it. The peace I needed. It’s like a curtain has been lifted from my eyes and I see who he really is. It’s how he always was. His mother saw it, his siblings saw it, his friends saw it. I just kept believing …thinking …hoping there was goodness there. I guess I was wrong. And you know what? I honestly don’t regret a second. Nothing was a mistake. It was all a lesson. And it’s slowly sinking in.

Now and then I think of when we were together
Like when you said you felt so happy you could die
Told myself that you were right for me

But that was love and it’s an ache I still remember

You can get addicted to a certain kind of sadness
Like resignation to the end
Always the end

Make out like it never happened
And that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love

And you didn’t have to stoop so low

I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know

Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me over
But had me believing it was always something that I’d done
And I don’t wanna live that way
Reading into every word you say
You said that you could let it go
And I wouldn’t catch you hung up on somebody that you used to know…

Make out like it never happened
And that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love

You didn’t have to stoop so low
I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know

[youtube http://youtu.be/8UVNT4wvIGY]

The lesson: don’t mistake attachment for love. It wasn’t a lie. It wasn’t a lie for you, M. You were genuine and honest. You gave your all and that’s how you are. As for him, he was confused. He’ll remain confused. And that confusion, is no longer your concern.

Wish him well, and say goodbye.

